I Want To Be My Students’ #1 Fan!

Wednesday is my busiest teaching day, but consequently also the day that I end up feeling like a VIP. I have a student, Tyler, who is so excited that it is his piano lesson day that many times he runs all the way outside to my car to greet me! That kind of a welcome gets me jazzed up for the lesson and lets me know that he is ready and eager to learn.

Having been a piano teacher for over 11 years now, I can tell you that teachable and passionate students, such as Tyler, are such a joy to work with. In my opinion, they are the students who get the most out of their music lessons. They literally beg you to give them more songs to practice and are always flipping to the next page saying, “How does this song go?” As is with so many things in life, attitude can often supersede aptitude.

When it comes to attitude, I know that it is not just the student’s attitude that makes a lesson successful. I feel that it is my job as a piano teacher not just to teach students how to clap rhythms, read music, or play with good technique, but to be their #1 fan. To encourage them and keep the lessons fun and positive is just as important as instructing them on the mechanics of music. It is so important that we teachers not douse that special “spark” that beginning piano students have and bog them down with being overly critical. Sure, I want to see them play their pieces correctly and with care, but I must remember to balance my critiques with genuine compliments. If I do these things, my students will feel like VIPs on Wednesdays too.

Written by Davina Whitlark, staff writer and teacher extraordinaire for Starlight Music Lessons.

Leave a comment